Release type: Media Release


Australian Laureate Fellowships Pin Ceremony


The Hon Jason Clare MP
Minister for Education

Australian researchers were today recognised for their ground-breaking research and leadership at the first in-person Australian Laureate Fellowships Pin Ceremony since 2019.

Australian Laureate Fellows were awarded with a special Pin recognising their work with the international research community and with industry, and their exemplary mentorship of early-career researchers.

The Australian Laureate Fellowships reflect our commitment to support world-class researchers to conduct cutting edge research and innovation for the advancement of Australian society.

The Australian Research Council (ARC) has this year awarded 46 Australian Laureate Fellowships Pins to cover the 2020, 2021 and 2022 period. Full details at

Two special Fellowships, the Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship and the Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship, are awarded to researchers who have promoted women in research and inspired young women to take up a career in research. They have been awarded to:

Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship

2022 Professor Larissa Behrendt

2021 Professor Sundhya Pahuja

2020 Professor Maureen Dollard

Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship winners

2022 Professor Joanne Etheridge

2021 Professor Yun Liu

2020 Professor Catherine Lovelock

The ARC advises the Government on research and administers the National Competitive Grants Program, delivering around $800 million every year to the most dynamic researchers in Australia.