Release type: Media Release


Celebrating early childhood educators in science, technology, engineering and mathematics


The Hon Dr Anne Aly MP
Minister for Early Childhood Education
Minister for Youth

Early childhood services and educators around the nation have been recognised for their innovation in engaging young Australians in inquiry-based learning.

Minister for Early Childhood Education Dr Anne Aly congratulated the national and state and territory winners of the 2022 Little Scientists Early STEM Awards, acknowledging their work to spark an early love of science in children.

“The Little Scientists Awards are an exciting introduction to STEM for young Australians helping encourage scientific exploration at home and in the classroom,” Minister Aly said.

“The award-winning projects demonstrate the wide variety of ways to implement inquiry-based learning and child-led STEM exploration in the early years. Encouraging children to be inquisitive of the world around them, and to explore complex topics and themes.

“Our early childhood educators and teachers do an amazing job at engaging young children and helping them understand complex subjects, creating a strong foundation for continual learning.”

The theme for this year’s awards, Quirky Curious Futures, encouraged participants to use their imagination and play with quirky ideas, let children’s curiosity run wild and create their own visions of the future.

Part of the Little Scientists program, the awards offer professional learnings for early childhood educators looking to find fun and engaging ways to introduce STEM concepts.

Recipients include The Professor Lynn Corcoran Early Learning Centre: FROEBEL Parkville, and their project “It takes a 100 years to grow a tree”. Taking children on a journey to understand the concept of time in its many forms through self-generated inquisitive learning.

The Australian Government invested $27.3 million in the 2020-21 Budget to improve STEM skills in early learners and school students through a variety of STEM programs. This included $2.5 million to extend the Little Scientists Program.

Winners of the Little Scientists Early STEM Award:

Category Service Name Project Title
National The Professor Lynn Corcoran Early Learning Centre: FROEBEL Parkville ‘It takes a 100 years to grow a tree’

The Point Preschool

Highly Commended

The Spectacular Find
VIC FROEBEL Carlton Early Learning Centre Little scientists with big senses
QLD Glass House Early Education Centre Can we save Humpty Dumpty?
WA Hensman Street Elementary Ramps and Pathways
SA Good Shepherd Lutheran School (Curiosity Early Learning) Air – How do we get things to fly?

St. Paul's Early Learning Centre

Highly Commended

Little Gardeners
TAS Bagdad Education and Care Parks and Parts

Further information about the Little Scientists Early STEM Award can be found here: