Inspiring university teachers awarded

Media Release
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education

Australia’s best university teachers have been recognised at the 2013 Australian Awards for University Teaching at the National Portrait Gallery in Canberra today.

Senator Scott Ryan, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education, congratulated the 13 teachers for their outstanding work, along with recognising nine individual university programs that enhance student learning.

“The Australian Awards for University Teaching are a nationally recognised marker of esteem,” Senator Ryan said.

“The outstanding university teachers and programs deserved to be recognised and celebrated for their exceptional work.“This year’s recipients have worked to engage students in active learning and relate their curriculum to the world in which we live.”

The teachers honoured at the awards come from universities all around Australia and from disciplines as diverse as dental studies, business, construction, languages, medical science and architecture.  

The programs range from specialised medical treatment for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders to enhancing students' learning in laboratories.

“I would particularly like to congratulate Professor John Croucher, from Macquarie University, who was awarded the prestigious Prime Minister’s Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year.

“Professor Croucher has an international reputation for his innovations in teaching and has inspired students from all walks of life to understand the importance of numeracy skills to their future professions and everyday lives.

“Australian universities are internationally renowned and the Government is committed to implementing policies that ensure we continue to have a truly world class higher education system,” Senator Ryan said.

“Maintaining quality in tertiary education is our number one priority and with these exceptional teachers and programs we will continue to expand our international education reputation.”

Further details on the award winners are available at:


Awards for Teaching Excellence for 2013



Ms Sophie Karanicolas, Ms Catherine Snelling

The University of Adelaide

Ms Helen Larkin

Deakin University

Dr Jacqueline O'Flaherty

University of South Australia

Dr Sebastian Kaempf

The University of Queensland

Dr Joanne Lind

University of Western Sydney

Associate Professor Jillian Hamilton

Queensland University of Technology

Dr Carol Hayes

The Australian National University

Professor Rod O'Donnell

University of Technology, Sydney

Dr Gwendolyn Lawrie

The University of Queensland

Associate Professor Reena Tiwari

Curtin University

Associate Professor Robyn Brandenburg

University of Ballarat

Associate Professor Natalie Brown

University of Tasmania

Professor John Croucher             

Macquarie University


Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning for 2013



Partnerships in Teaching Excellence


Dr Kerry Howells (Primary Nominee), Ms Ruth Radford

University of Tasmania

Teacher Education Done Differently


Associate Professor Peter Hudson (Primary Nominee), Dr Suzanne Hudson, Mrs Justine Hudson, Dr Mallihai Tambyah

Queensland University of Technology

The Rural and Remote Health Placement Program


Professor Donna Mak (Primary Nominee), Ms Marianna Mattes, Professor Jennifer McConnell, Dr Dianne Ritson, Associate Professor Chris Skinner, Professor Alan Wright, Mrs Ruth Webb-Smith, Ms Elsia Archer, Mr Rod Carter, Mr Stan McDonnell, Ms Donna Crook, Mr Don Ennis, Mr Richard Chadwick, Ms Natalie Davey, Associate Professor Ilse O'Ferrall, Ms Deeane Lightfoot

The University of Notre Dame Australia

The HealthFusion Team Challenge


Associate Professor Monica Moran (Primary Nominee), Associate Professor Rosalie Boyce, Professor Lisa Nissen, Ms Jane Furnas

Central Queensland University

Student Design and Construction Program


Mr David Morris (Primary Nominee)

University of South Australia

Undergraduate Learning and Teaching Research Internship Scheme


Professor Sally Sandover (Primary Nominee), Associate Professor Lee Partridge, Dr Wayne McGowan

The University of Western Australia

Enhancing students' learning in laboratories through professional development of demonstrators


Professor Mauro Mocerino (Primary Nominee), Associate Professor Marjan Zadnik, Professor Shelley Yeo

Curtin University

GUMURRII Student Support Unit


Ms Bronwyn Dillon (Primary Nominee), Mr Shane Barnes, Ms Kerryn Brown, Ms Kim Cannon, Mr Glenn Barry, Ms Letitia Campbell, Ms Jessie Elvin, Ms Rennae Waters, Mr John Graham, Ms Michelle Daylight, Ms Carol Edwards, Mr Edward Synot, Ms Debbie Woodbridge, Ms Deann Grant, Mr Donald Martin, Ms Jane Wallace, Ms Shaneen Dalton

Griffith University

Bachelor of Medicine - Bachelor of Surgery

Professor Tarun Sen Gupta (Primary Nominee), Dr Teresa O'Connor, Associate Professor Ruth Stewart, Ms Sharon Barnwell, Ms Simone Ross, Dr Robin Ray, Ms Maggie Grant, Dr Nichole Harvey, Mr Donald Whaleboat, Dr Roy Rasalam, Associate Professor Sarah Larkins, Dr Torres Woolley, Professor Richard Murray,

James Cook University


2013 Prime Minister’s Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year



Professor John Croucher

Macquarie University


For more information

Media Contact:
Non-media queries: 1300 566 046