Celebrating Young Australian of the Year nominees

Media Release
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education

On behalf of the Australian Government, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education, Senator the Hon Scott Ryan congratulated all nominees for the 2015 Young Australian of the Year award.

Over the past month, states and territories have been announcing the winners of their 2015 Young Australian of the Year award, culminating in Western Australia’s announcement at the weekend.

The winners of state and territory awards go into the running for the nationwide honour, which is awarded on Australia Day 2015.

The nominees are:

  • Patrick Mills (ACT): The first Indigenous Australian to win an NBA championship.
  • Genevieve Clay-Smith (NSW): A filmmaker who uses her skills to help people facing barriers to inclusion.

  • Chantal Ober (NT): A youth worker, volunteer and advocate for young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

  • Yassmin Abdel-Magied (QLD): Engineer and founder of Youth Without Borders.

  • Kristin Carson (SA): One of the youngest senior medical research scientists at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, with an interest in respiratory illness.

  • Adam Mostogl (TAS): Business mentor and community leader.

  • Thomas King (VIC): Environmental activist and anti-palm oil campaigner.

  • Drisana Levitzke-Gray (WA): Advocate for deaf people.

“I hope all the nominees encourage young Australians in their states and territories to get involved in their community and do their best,” Senator Ryan said.

For more information on the nominees, visit www.australianoftheyear.org.au.

For more information

Media Contact: media@education.gov.au
Non-media queries: 1300 566 046