Australian delegates announced for Y20

Media Release
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education

Five young Australians will represent the country’s youth at the Youth 20 (Y20) Summit in Sydney 12-15 July 2014.

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education thanked all young people who applied, ensuring a high quality of applicants.

Senator Ryan congratulates the five successful applicants and is pleased to announce Ms Amy Rhodes, Mr Jonathan Pavetto, Ms Laura Sobels, Mr Lachlan Cooke and Mr Timothy Cameron will be representing Australia at the summit in July.

“The Y20 summit will provide a forum to discuss challenges and opportunities facing young people within the context of growth and jobs, particularly addressing the burden and causes of youth unemployment,” Senator Ryan said.

The successful delegates will work to ensure that the diversity of perspectives, experiences and interests are considered in the international G20 context.

The Y20 is an official engagement group of the G20, and is being held as part of Australia’s G20 2014 presidency.

“The Y20 summit will give young people from across G20 countries the opportunity to engage in policy discussions on pressing global and national economic challenges,” Senator Ryan said.

“They will have a crucial role in engaging with young Australians leading up to the summit, and generating ideas from this consultation process with international delegates in the form of a communiqué to be presented to the G20 Leaders Summit in November for consideration."

For further information on the Y20 Summit see

For more information

Media Contact:
Non-media queries: 1300 566 046