Improving literacy in remote schools

Media Release
  • Minister for Education
  • Leader of the House

Schools in remote locations will receive extra support to teach foundation literacy skills with the announcement today that 34 remote schools will participate in the Flexible literacy for remote primary schools programme in 2015.
The Minister for Education, the Hon Christopher Pyne MP, said the programme will provide extra support to schools in remote Australia to introduce two teaching approaches: Direct Instruction and Explicit Direct Instruction. These schools will commence at the start of the 2015 school year.
“These approaches have proven successful in early pilots and will expand the reach of Direct Instruction and Explicit Direct Instruction to other remote schools that have struggled to achieve minimum national standards for many of their students,” Mr Pyne said.
“We know that Direct Instruction and Explicit Direct Instruction teaching methods work. Teachers in these remote primary schools will receive professional development and support to gain the specific knowledge and skills they need to use these approaches with their students.
“I commend these schools and their commitment to improving literacy outcomes and I look forward to hearing about their progress and achievements.”
The Flexible literacy for remote primary schools programme will be managed by Good to Great Schools Australia and is part of the Government’s Students First approach.
Under the Students First approach, the Australian Government will work with the states and territories on four key areas that will make a difference to students:
• teacher quality
• school autonomy
• parental engagement
• strengthening the curriculum.
Mr Pyne’s Media: 0439 764 809,
Department Media:

 School Name Location State
1 Alekarenge School Ali Curung NT
2 Alyarrmandumanja Umbakumba School Umbakumba NT
3 Angurugu School Angurugu NT
4 Borroloola School Borroloola NT
5 Gapuwiyak School Gapuwiyak NT
6 Mamaruni School Minjilang NT
7 Milikapiti School Milikapiti NT
8 Milyakburra School Bickerton Island NT
9 Nganambala School Emu Point NT
10 Nganmarriyanga School Palumpa NT
11 Ntaria School Hermannsburg NT
12 Numbulwar School Numbulwar NT
13 Peppimenarti School Peppimenarti NT
14 Pularumpi School Pirlangimpi NT
15 Tiwi College Melville Island NT
16 Warruwi School Warruwi NT
17 Jigalong Remote Community School Newman WA
18 Mount Magnet District High School Mount Magnet WA
19 Nullagine Primary School Nullagine WA
20 One Arm Point Remote Community School Broome WA
21 Rawa Community School (two campuses) Punmu and Kunawarritji WA
22 Christ The King Catholic School Lombadina WA
23 Holy Rosary School Derby WA
24 Kulkarriya Community School Fitzroy Crossing WA
25 Kururrungku Catholic Education Centre Halls Creek WA
26 Meekatharra District High School Meekatharra WA
27 Sacred Heart School Broome WA
28 St Mary Star Of The Sea Catholic School Carnarvon WA
29 Strelley Community School (two campuses) Strelley Station and Warralong (Port Hedland) WA
30 Warlawurru Catholic School Halls Creek WA
31 Yakanarra Community School Yakanarra WA
32 Yiyili Aboriginal Community School Halls Creek WA
33 John Pujajangka-Piyirn Catholic School Mulan via Halls Creek WA
34 Western Cape College Weipa QLD



For more information

Media Contact:
Non-media queries: 1300 566 046