Australian Awards for University Teaching

Media Release
  • Minister for Education
  • Leader of the House

Minister for Education, the Hon Christopher Pyne MP has today congratulated the recipients of the Australian Awards for University Teaching 2014.

Mr Pyne said the Awards recognise and value outstanding teachers and are part of the Australian Government’s commitment to high quality learning and teaching in universities.

“I remain committed to ensuring Australia has the best higher education system in the world and believe we need a strong focus on the quality and impact of higher education learning and teaching,” Mr Pyne said.

“These Awards celebrate the best and most innovative teaching in the nation,” he said.
The Awards are administered by the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT), and were presented last night at Parliament House by Senator the Hon Scott Ryan, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education, in the following categories:

  • Teaching Excellence (16 awards)
  • Programs that Enhance Learning (8 awards)
  • Career Achievement Award (one award)
  • Australian University Teacher of the Year

Each Award is valued at $25,000, with the Australian University Teacher of the Year receiving a total of $75,000 to further their teaching.

The Career Achievement Award was presented to Professor Paul Ramsden for an outstanding contribution to learning and teaching that is recognised across the higher education sector. Among his many achievements, Professor Ramsden championed research on the student experience, developed the Course Experience Questionnaire and authored seminal texts on higher education teaching and leadership.

The Australian University Teacher of the Year – given to an academic with an exceptional record of advancing student learning, educational leadership and scholarly contribution to teaching and learning. This year’s recipient is Dr Brydie-Leigh Bartleet from Griffith University.

“Dr Bartleet’s innovative approach to music learning and teaching brings together universities and community partners and has had a significant and lasting impact on her students,” Mr Pyne said.

“I would like to congratulate all the Awards recipients who achieved excellence in their chosen fields and made a tangible and lasting difference to students and to higher education learning and teaching,” he said.
For a full list of award recipients visit

For more information

Media Contact:
Non-media queries: 1300 566 046